Missy Broome

It's Missy!

Meet Robert Ivy The 2018 Noel Polk Award Winner

The Chief Executive Officer and Vice President of the American Institute of Architects, Robert Ivy, was awarded by the Institute of Letters and Arts in Mississippi with a Noel Polk Award. This act made it the first time for an architect receiving this award which is usually awarded to artists as well as art patrons living in the Mississippi area. Their works are screened across a lifetime of creativity, performance, and also supporting art. Ivy in conjunction with a stained glass artist, Mr. Andrew Cary Young of Jackson, a Mississippi based Studio, Pearl River Glass was officially awarded the special honor on the 2nd of June.

The AIA president Mr. Carl Elefante likened Robert Ivy as a worthy diplomat for their profession as the CEO from 2011 as well as an editor, author, and also a practicing architect. This honor was not only a professional achievement but also a personal crowning step for him as a Mississippi native.

Follow Robert Ivy on Twitter

Robert Ivy was the Editor-in-Chief for the Architectural Record and he received various honors among them was a National Magazine. His leadership role at the American Institute of Architects has tremendously grown the nationwide print of the institute. It is at the highest membership level in its history of 160 years according to the AIA records. He was announced a Master Architect by the national architecture fraternity in 2010, Alpha Rho Chi, a special award handed to some of the incredibly famous architects on the planet such as R. Buckminster Fuller, I.M. Pei, as well as Ludwig Mies van der Rohe.

He was given the Dean’s Medal by the architectural University of Arkansas Fay Jones School and has written the Fay Jones book (McGraw-Hill Professional, 2001). The MIAL President, Nancy LaForge said that there is nobody else like Robert Ivy in Mississippi who is more accessible by the general population in the architectural field. After winning the Noel Polk award, he is now among the great names in writing like Shelby Foote in 2004 and Eudora Welty in 2001, actors like Morgan Freeman who was awarded in 2007, Walter Anderson in 1989 and also Leontyne Price in 2000.

Check more about Robert Ivy:

Leave a Reply